Run for Relief Walkthrough

So yesterday I decided to head on over to the gym and do a quick walkthrough for my run this upcoming Thursday.  I am still trying to decide on what the “best” way to run this 12 hours in…nothing is set in stone however after yesterday I think I have a much better idea.

So I started on the treadmill at a speed setting of 6.2 and then I decreased that speed by .1 every 5 minutes for 60 minutes.  Ended up running 5.65 miles in that one hour.  Doing some simple math, if I was able to maintain that average pace per hour I should get to around 67.8 miles in 12 hours.  Now however, I need to take into consideration slowing down to eat and drink periodically, so if I were to assume that over the span of 12 hours I would be slowed significantly to eat and drink for a total of 1 hour I would need to subtract about 3.4 miles from that total giving me a grand total 64.4 miles 🙂

So I have a few ideas on how to do this…but this is the plan I am coming back to time after time….

Hour 1 – Run at a set speed of 6.2 MPH

Hour 2 – Run at a set speed of 5.1 MPH

Hour 3 – Run at a set speed of 6.1 MPH for 45 minutes and then take the last 15 minutes of that hour and eat/drink…change shirts, act….I think doing this at this point would be good simply because for hour 4 I will be dropping my speed back down.

This would repeat itself 4 more times going up and down on the speeds to allow my body to “rest” for a period of time.  Either way, the more I think about it and the more I think through all the details, this is going to be a challenge in just keeping myself focused on the task at hand.  Most of my running for the past 6 to 9 months has been focused on speed so going into this run, knowing full well that I cannot be focused on speed will be challenging to the mind 🙂

I still have a lot more planning to do and lots more things to think about, but this appears to be the plan that I am going with 🙂

2 thoughts on “Run for Relief Walkthrough”

  1. You really rock! I’m sweating and thinking of my upcoming half marathon while reading this! I’m not sure (yet) if I have interest in something larger than half-marathon distance, but I’m still leaving it as a possibility. I would love to hear about your diet and how you keep the weight on with so much training, ect. I usually start rehydrating when I hit 5k during a race and keep sipping/popping an organic sports chew every 1/2 mile. What’s your regimen like?

    Take care-
    A

    1. Thanks for the compliment! As for my diet it really all depends on what exactly I am doing. My specific training months are June, July, August and September for the upcoming race season as I only run Marathons and a few Half Marathons from October to May. During the summer months I tend to eat a lot more than I do during racing season. My diet consists of a lot of good carbohydrates, lots of proteins and some fats. I am generally in the 5,000 calorie per day bracket but sometimes have to bring that up to over 8,000 calories. Hydration is extremely important and I drink about 1 gallon of water daily no matter what I am doing. I guess I should make a post about my diet huh lol.
      Congrats on your upcoming half marathon. If you need any help what so ever please don’t hesitate to ask.

      Jim

Leave a Reply

