Less than 24 hours to go….

Waking up this morning, one constant thought continued to emanate from my mind….Less than 24 hours from now I will be on a treadmill for 12 straight hours. And over the past few days, I have come to realize that the actual run will be the easiest part of this entire effort. There are so many moving parts to actually putting on an event like this. From food, clothing, locations, publicity, aid requirements, permissions, donations, pledges and coordinating all the moving parts. I will be the first to let everyone know that there is no way I could have done any of this by myself. I am forever indebted to many people who have gone the extra mile to make this event possible. Really, I have to do is run and that is the easy part. First and foremost I need to thank Christina Horton who has taken this on as her personal mission. She has spent countless hours coordinating with Navy and Marine Corps Relief, the NAS Pensacola Command, Lillian’s Restaurant (who is providing the food 🙂 ), sending emails after emails letting everyone know what is going on. So before I forget with everything else going on, thank-you CC, the Run for Relief will be a great event because of your abilities to coordinate and tie things together. Special thanks goes also to all the staff at the Radford Fitness Center for allowing my to do my run there. Michelle, Wayne, Kathy and everyone else who has played a roll…THANK-YOU! Mark over at Navy and Marine Corps Relief, your efforts to help me have not gone unnoticed. It is a great pleasure to run and raise money for a great organization that helps so many service members both young and old. I also, could not have done this without the support of my friends and family. You all are my inspiration for doing something like this. Finally, and most importantly, I am so thankful for everyone who has taken the time to make a donation or a pledge. Without the money, this would just be another run. As of last night, the Run for Relief has had pledges and or donations from 131 different people and we have raised over $3,000 and we are not done yet! I need your continued help. My goal is to hit the $5,000 mark and I need everyone who has thought about donating or pledging to make that donation or pledge! If you would like to remain anonymous shoot me an email at jim@muffinstomarathons.com I am going to make a separate post here in a minute that you can comment on and make your pledge or donation. No money needed at this time.
I am certain that I am forgetting people to thank, but I want everyone to know that if you played a part in helping me pull this off, I thank you!

Leave a Reply

