Time and Preparation

I am a New England Patriots fan.  I always have been and always will be.  I was a fan in 2007 when they went 16 and 0 in the regular season and I have been a fan when they went 1 and 15 in 1990.  Last night, while watching the post game interviews with the head coach (Bill Belechick) and the starting quarterback (Tom Brady) I listened to two people talk about the game that was just played against the Miami Dolphins.  A game that not only the Patriots won, it was a game in which Tom Brady threw for 517 yards, a team record and 5th most ever in the NFL.  It was an amazing performance on so many levels. Here are some of the quotes:

Bill Belechick opening statement Key Points:  “I just think our guys made a few more plays”, “I though we got good contributions from all three phases of the game, offense, defense, special teams, and hopefully we can build on that and improve on it.”, “We’ve certainly got a long way to go.”, “That was certainly no ‘rembrandt’ performance, but fortunately it was good enough.”

Good enough, are you kidding me?  622 total offensive yards, 5 touchdowns, 4 quarterback sacks, and no turnovers.

Tom Brady then went on to say in his press conference that it was a “good” game, we have a long way to go.  We need to work on a lot of areas of the game and improve a lot on some areas.  He talked about how the team takes everything day by day, looking at the big picture, but using every single day as an opportunity to learn  and get better.

So, why am I talking about all of this football stuff?  Football is game in which an incredible amount of time and preparation are dedicated to improving oneself or the team every single day.  The Patriots are never content, no matter what the eventual outcome of the game is.  They understand that to be successful they need to work at it day in and day out and there is no “off” day!

Health and fitness is the same way.  It is a daily challenge and struggle for each and every one of us who has made the decision to improve our fitness and get healthier.  At the end of every day I look back at my day and think what I could have done differently.  I didn’t need to eat this or that, or drink this or that.  I could have drank more water.  I could have pushed it harder on my run today or whatever else I happened to be doing.  We should never be completely satisfied with where we are at.  If you look at elite athletes, they are never satisfied.  They are always looking to improve.  The question is why don’t we?  I include myself in this as well, there are days when I want nothing to do with improving at anything, I just want to relax and do nothing.

Getting healthier and gaining a better fitness level takes time and it takes preparation.  You can just say, let’s go for it.  You need to have a plan, a roadmap that will help guide you.  Losing 20 or 30 lbs will not happen overnight.  You didn’t gain the weight overnight!  It is going to take sacrifice and a plan.  It is also going to take time.  You need to dedicate the time needed for YOU.  No one else is going to do it for you.

I guess what I am trying to say is that none of us should ever really be completely satisfied with anything in life.  WE as a whole can always improve and get better at whatever we do.  All it takes is time and preparation.  This leads to proper execution and in the end you hit your goal.  Then you make a new goal and the whole cycle starts over again.

Leave a Reply

