Diet’s and why they are contributing to the US staying overweight

The word diet is a nasty and dirty word.  You have all probably heard the finger nail scraping against an old blackboard, well when I hear the word diet I cringe much like that obnoxious sound with the finger and the blackboard.  The first three letters of the word diet is “die” and that is exactly how most people feel when they are on a diet!  They are not effective for long term weight loss.  There sure are lots of diets out there too……

Atkins Diet, Baby Food Diet (what?), Big Breakfast Diet, Cabbage Soup Diet, Cookie Diet, Dr. Phil’s Ultimate Weight Solution, Flat Belly Diet, Fast Food Diet (this one should be really good for you ), Lemonade Diet, Morning Banana Diet, The 17 Day Diet, South Beach Diet, The 3 Hour Diet….these are only a handful of the many many diets out there.

Why are diet’s and all these diet programs so popular?  They prey on the lazy!  They promise immediate results with only a little work.  The people that create these diets are not stupid, quite the contrary, they are brilliant!  They develop a program that will show almost immediate results and hook you with a great marketing campaign.  You buy in and you SEE WEIGHT LOSS, so you continue to pay in!  Your friends all say, “wow, you look great what did you do”…you tell them that you just started the ______ Diet and that it is the greatest thing in the world.  So guess what your friend does.  They go and spend their money and start the same diet.  It is about this time that you get sick if eating cabbage or nothing but lentils and you start to stray from your glorious program.  In the meantime, you start putting your weight back on, your friend starts losing weight and the chain of events happens all over again.  The makers of these diets don’t care about you at all!  They care about making money.  They care of about how many people they are going to hook and take $50, $60, $70 a month from for as long as they possibly can.  And when you fail, it is not the diet programs fault, it is yours for not following it to the letter.  The “diet” industry is a multi billion dollar industry and they are only getting bigger.  In fact, they don’t want you to lose weight because if you do, they won’t be needed anymore.

These diets are effective because more often than not they are restricting your caloric intake to incredibly low levels.  Knowing that you can’t do that forever, you will gain the weight back and start over again.  Why, do we do this to our bodies?  Let me help you out here…calorie restriction is NOT beneficial to your body.  Not at all.  So why do we all continue to go on diets to lose weight?  The FDA releases a study every year since 1989 and it tells us how much we in the United States spends on diet programs years.  In 2007 (most recent year available) the US Weight Loss and Diet Control Market made 55 BILLION dollars and the current estimation is that this year it will top 60 billion dollars.  SIXTY BILLION DOLLARS!!!!  Holy Shit!  We should be seeing an incredible turn around in our obesity statistics right?  But the problem is we are not.  The obesity rates continue to climb, at a staggering rate!  There is only ONE state in the country that has an obesity rate below 20%.  You can read about obesity rates by state HERE.

If you don’t like “curse” words, this is probably where you should stop reading!

These diet makers prey on your vulnerability!  They prey on your weaknesses.  They tell you how EASY it is to lose weight and keep it off.  Well, I call bullshit!  Weight loss is NOT easy!  It is an absolutely fucking incredibly hard and  challenging ordeal.  It requires monumental effort and absolute dedication!  The diet industry knows that they can market the “Three Hour Diet” because they know they can’t market the “You need to kick your ass on a daily basis” diet.

Weight loss is hard work that does not require you to take out a home equity loan to accomplish.  Trust me on this!  The way to do it is simple, the act of doing it is hard.

1.  You need to get rid of the crap out of your diet!  There is NO NEED to eat candy, soda, chips, cookies, cake, pie, ice cream, fast food, and every other creation that is evil in a package.  We eat it because we WANT to, not because we have to.  There is a difference and I will tell you now, that if you eliminate these foods from your diet, you won’t in fact die.

2.  You need to exercise, holy shit!  That means we need to get off the couch and get our heart rate up.  30 minutes 5 days a week minimum.  Every client that I train trains for at least 30 minutes 5 days a week.

3.  You need to get rid of the excuses.  Excuses are for those who don’t have the willpower and the desire to change their lives.  If you want to stay overweight because “life” is far to busy, fine, you are going to have to explain to your employer that you need time off 10 years from now because you are going in to the hospital for triple bypass heart surgery.  Or you have diabetes!  Or you have high blood pressure!  Or you have cancer!

4.  Get off the diet roller coaster.  They ONLY want your money.  If I wanted too, I could create a diet right now, that I GUARANTEE you would lose 20 lbs in 45 days.  I could market this and sell this and start tapping into 60 billion…but I don’t want too!  I want to see people lose weight, live a healthy life and do so forever!  Not for 2 or 3 months and then have to start all over again.

In a nutshell, we have a problem in this country and I want to fix it!  One person at a time if that is what it takes, but I want to solve the problem!  We need to change the way we think about food!  Food is fuel for the body, nothing more.  It is not comfort.  People tell me they eat when they are bored.  What?  Why?  Read a book.  Go for a walk.  Find a hobby.  I don’t mean to insult anyone here, these are just my opinions and some simple facts.  You get to make the choice.  If you want help, I will help you.  So will others.  But, if you really want to lose weight and keep it off forever, just know that a diet will not get you to where you want to be.  I receive about 2 to 3 emails a day asking about my services as a personal trainer and what they can expect if they hire me.  I tell them very clearly what the expectations will be.  I tell them if they don’t have 100% dedication to doing the right thing, this probably will not work out.  Most thank me for my time and tell me they are going to try another route, because this just seems too hard.  I am not that dedicated or I want to lose weight faster.  No problem, go out and lose your 10 or 20 lbs in a few months.  Come off the diet.  You will gain it all back plus some in no time, and when you do, just shoot me another email and I will still be here with a program that will help you.  Only you can get yourself to where you want to be….by changing your habits and once you have made the change, life becomes easy again.

One thought on “Diet’s and why they are contributing to the US staying overweight”

  1. I really love the points you made about dieting! When I first started my journey in weight loss, I joined Weight Watchers and stayed with them for almost 2 years. The weight came off steadily and quickly, but once I hit my 50 pound loss, my metabolism STOPPED… for 9 months STRAIGHT. No matter how much I stayed “on points” or worked out (up to 2 hours a day, 6 days a week), I gained back 15 of what I’d lost. I’d come to find out, when starting P90X, that I’d been only eating 1,375 calories each day (and sweating for about 1,000 calories each day!!!). My body was in SERIOUS starvation mode. The moment I quit that, learned about REAL nutrition and the things I should be putting into my body, and started weight training with P90X, the weight loss started again. My body has never been this toned, this lean, or this small before! I now eat 1,850 calories each day and workout 5 days a week, 1 hour each day. I am finally SANE about food again. No more diet crutch. No more paranoia about food. Just me, clean eating, and sanity. It’s beautiful.

Leave a Reply

