Food Myth #3 – Diet Soda’s will help you lose weight!

If I had a nickel for every single time I heard this one.  I would be RICH beyond my wildest dreams I tell ya!  I will just go ahead and add a disclaimer here that I do in fact drink Diet soda from time to time….Diet Coke would be my pop of choice but I only drink that pop when there are “beverages” added to it….it makes it so much better 🙂

You see, the problem with diet sodas is what makes then pretty much diet in the first place.  The artificial sweeteners that they put in diet sodas trigger sensors in our brains that let us know that calories are coming….when in fact they really are not.  Our bodies get completely confused!  The dissociation between sweet taste and calorie intake may put the regulatory system that controls hunger and body weight out of sync, thus sabotaging weight loss plans.  The fact that artificial sweeteners are more than 100 times sweeter than natural table sugar is a cause for concern as well.  The naturally sweet food items like fruits for example, don’t see so sweet anymore.  We are basically desensitizing our bodies.

Though the long term effects of diet sodas are not clear yet, there have been long term studies conducted and every single one of them, those who drank diet soda had an increase in weight.  Was it because of the soda or because the drinking of the soda caused us to eat certain foods that we otherwise would not be eating.

The reality is that there is only one liquid that the body absolutely NEEDS to have an that is water.  Is it possible to shut off the diet soda tap completely, absolutely it is.  I didn’t think I could do it when I started my weight loss over 3 years ago, but I did it and proved that it can be done.  Was it easy, hell no.  I drank 5 or 6 Diet Cokes per day.  And I stayed off the stuff for well over a year before I slowly reintroduced it back into my life and still today, I drink it sparingly.  There will be days and sometimes weeks when I don’t drink it.  Am I asking you to give up diet sodas, no, most people will normally come back and say that they can’t do this or they can’t do that…it is impossible.  So, all I do now is provide the best information I can and let others make the best decisions.

Here is a pretty good in depth article about the non benefits of drinking Diet Soda’s.

 

http://www.naturallyintense.net/blog/diet/is-diet-soda-bad-for-you-weight-gain-from-diet-soda/

Leave a Reply

