We are all Runners

This morning while out running with my students at our Command PT, I had one of my students who was really laboring on her running tell me that she is not a runner.  The look on my face must have been a look of shock as I looked back at her because she smiled and said, “well I’m not!”

That got me to thinking…how often over these past several years have I heard from so many people that they are not a runner.  Really?  I have heard it dozens of times and every time up until this morning I just took it with a grain of salt…ya ya, just another person who hates running.  But today was different and I have no idea why!  I ended up telling her that yes in fact she is a runner, we are all runners, every single human being in the world is a runner!  Some of us just choose not to run, but that doesn’t change the fact that we are all runners.

Now with all that being said, I do not believe that we were or are all “distance” runners….there are a lot of arguments out there that discuss both sides of the argument but I believe the argument that states that we a species were able to adapt and overcome because of our ability to move, whether that is being able to walk long distances with intermittent short runs, migrate from one place to another, act.  We were not however designed to sit on the couch and play video games and eat shit food.  Our bodies are designed for movement and yet in the world (most especially the United States) most of us do far to little of any kind of movement that actually benefits us.

So, next time you think you are not a runner, just remember that our ancestors did a little bit of running too, and that running with a lot of walking helped us to become the species we are today.

2 thoughts on “We are all Runners”

Leave a Reply

