Accountability

We are accountable to someone.  Every single one of us.  We might be accountable to our spouses or our children.  Maybe we are accountable to our fellow employees and boss at work.  Possibly family members, our church or school.  But do you know who the person you are accountable to the most….yup, you guessed it.  YOU!  You are accountable to you.  Amazing!

Accountability is an obligation or willingness to accept responsibility or to account for one’s actions.  We spend our entire lives being held accountable to something or for someone.  Except, us.  This confuses me and it maddens me to no end when it comes to accountability with fitness and weigh loss or healthy nutrition.  You wouldn’t not go to work simply because you didn’t want to would you?  Yet, when it comes to our health, a lot of us gladly will but off eating healthy or working out and find a valid excuse why.  If you did that with work, you would be fired in short order.  Why, because that is unacceptable.  So why is so acceptable to eat like shit!  Why is it so acceptable to lead such an unhealthy life that you are going to become a burden on your family and society as you get older?

147 BILLION dollars is what obesity is costing our nation every year and it doing nothing but increasing.  How much is $147,000,000,000 you ask?

There are currently 135 countries in the world with a GDP less than the amount our country spends on healthcare for obesity.

146 Billion dollars is more than the net worth of FedEx, Apple and General Motors…..COMBINED!

If the United States were to correct this problem and no longer spend that money on healthcare for obesity related diseases, they could write a check to EVERY man, woman and child in America in the amount of $466.91 (Merry Christmas)

But that is not happening anytime soon.  Why?  Because we as American’s are not holding ourselves accountable to our own health.  We assume that I am just going to live my life to the fullest and if something happens, there are drugs and good doctors who can fix me.  We also will argue that even if I live a healthy life, I am still going to die, I can still get cancer, I can still get diabetes.  Your right, you can!  The reality though, is that by living an unhealthy lifestyle you go from “if” to “when” very quickly.  Just read in the news about a 3rd grade boy who was removed from his mothers care and put into Foster Care because he was over 200lbs!

All if this comes down to you and me.  Thats it, no one else.  WE make our own choices and WE make our own decisions!  If you choose to eat something not healthy, it doesn’t affect me or anyone around you….yet!  But it does affect YOU!

I am going to throw myself into this because, well, I know me and I know what I have done.  The last few days have been awful when it comes to nutrition and my workouts.  When I say awful, I mean absolutely disastrous.  I ate far to much crap over the holidays, I didn’t workout at all for 3 days, I drank to much and didn’t drink nearly enough water.  What was the affect on me?  Well yesterday I went for my morning run and it was I have to say one of the absolute worst runs of my life.  6 miles of pure hell!  Did a spin class yesterday, not bad but by no means great.  Today, same story….felt a little better but everything was just off!  Why?  Did I all of a sudden forget how to run?  No, it was everything over the past several days and my body is just saying WTF!  Why and I telling you this….because everyone, including me, has to hold themselves accountable.  I messed up and I am currently paying for it.  I get asked all the time about how to train for marathons…short answer is accountability.  Even when you don’t want to, don’t feel like it, it’s cold, it’s hot, it’s raining, I have other things to do….you can’t miss a workout.  It is hours upon endless hours of training!  Hundreds and hundreds of miles of running for one event!  If I skip a workout, the only person I am hurting is myself.  I am NEVER going to get that workout back.  It is time gone.  Make no mistake, I love to run…..but I don’t love to get up at 2:30 in the morning to knock out a 20 miler before the sun comes up in the summer down here.  But, I have to do what I need to do because of the goals that I have set.

Accountability is also about eating right.  Don’t even think about sitting there and telling me that you had a bowl of cereal and you counted that as 1 portion.  Have you ever measured out a portion of cold cereal?  A squirrel couldn’t survive on a bowl of cereal.  But we count the bowl as 1 when in reality it could be 4 or 5 servings.  That is a pretty big difference.  That donut or danish or pastry look good?  You bet it does 🙂  But if you eat it, are you prepared to work twice as hard to burn it off?  If you not, don’t eat it.  Nutrition is easy.  Proper nutrition is a pain in the ass!  But it CAN be done and it happens when accountability to yourself takes center stage!

If this blog sounds like I am preaching or venting or bitching….well it is because I am!  Losing weight and getting in better physical condition is HARD WORK!  It does not ever come easy, if it did, everyone would be doing it.  But you have the choice!  You always have the choice!  The choices you make today will affect you tomorrow and the next day and the day after that.  I would like to leave you with a couple of interesting quotes that you can take…or leave…completely up to you!

Our health always seems much more valuable after we lose it. ~ Author Unknown

Take care of your body.  It’t the only place you have to live. ~ Jim Rohn

Leave a Reply

