Sandy’s Donut’s Half Marathon Report

So on Friday morning when I woke up I decided that I was going to do this little half marathon over in West Fargo.  I needed to get a somewhat longer run in and I figured that this was a decent opportunity to get one in.  Plus I haven’t really raced in quite some time so I wanted to get back into the swing of things.  Overall it was a pretty good run.  Great weather was a bonus.  Unfortunately my performance was not as good as I would have liked.  Here are a few things that I learned.

1.  My distance level speed work has fallen in the shitter.  Running the distance is no problem but my speed at the distance is far from great.  I am at least 10 to 12 minutes slower than I should be and I am very disappointed in this.  I can attribute this to several things.

a.  I have not put in nearly as much time as I need to on overall big distances

b.  I have not put in nearly as much time running fast on the bigger distances that I do run.

c.  I have added almost 7 pounds of muscle (some fat I’m sure) over the past several months due    to my increased amount of strength training.  Normally I would say this is ok, but for whatever reason, I do not run nearly as well in the low 170’s as I do in the mid 160’s.

2.  Don’t wear a pair of running shoes that you haven’t worn in a few months on a longer run.

3.  I need to get off the treadmill and back out on the roads way more often.

Overall, I am a little disappointed but a lot of lessons can be learned in disappointment.  Here are my overall splits for the race.

Mile 1 – 7:37

Mile 2 – 8:04

Mile 3 – 8:19

Mile 4 – 8:33 (Had a little digestive problem here)

Mile 5 – 8:31 (Still hanging on to my digestive problem)

Mile 6 – 8:31 (Sure wish I could find an outhouse or something)

Mile 7 – 8:30 (Really getting concerned here)

Mile 8 – 9:15 (FOUND ONE)

Mile 9 – 8:09

Mile 10 – 7:55

Mile 11 – 7:45

Mile 12 – 8:03

Mile 13 – 8:08

Mile 13.10 – 8:12

Overall finished in 1:48:16.  Also had a few traffic stops along the way (This was not a closed course so we had to wait for cars and stuff)

Fun race, hope they bring it back for another year.

 

2 thoughts on “Sandy’s Donut’s Half Marathon Report”

Leave a Reply

