Emotions & Excuses

The two big E’s is what I like to call them.  These two big E’s tend to help us fall off the wagon more times than a 3 year old without training wheels.

Emotional eating can be extremely dangerous.  We put in so much time and effort to workout properly, to eat within limits and then……we have something happen in our lives and where to most of turn….FOOD!  I have said this before and I will probably say this again, but food is comfort!  It makes us feel good, great, fantastic and crappy all at the same time.  I liken emotional eating to gambling.  I have been known to enjoy a good game of poker in my time, and there are some nights when you have it and some nights where I am on full tilt the whole way.  Gambling and eating are similar in that when we are doing well, things are great.  Normal portions, good healthy foods…but the minute something starts going bad…we go all in and that bag of chips had better get a good head start because watch out.

Emotional eating is very dangerous because we can very easily bust down an extra couple of thousand calories and not even think about it.  With our calorie dense foods now a days, it is not that hard to do.  One meal at a (you pick the restaurant) can easily be 1,500 to 2,000 calories.  But hey, I am having a bad day….the kids were crazy today….work sucks….we all have emotional triggers that force us to fall back to something that we enjoy and for most of us that enjoyment is food.  How do we prevent this?  Well in my almost 40 years on this earth, I have finally realized that I cannot control ones emotions.  What I can do however, is try to visualize how eating this crap all at once is going to help me…more often than not, all it will make us do is feel guilty the next morning when we wake up bloated and pissed off at throwing all our hard work out the window.

Excuses!!  If I had a nickel for every time I used and excuse to attempt to validate why I should eat something.  I hear it every single day.  I will start eating healthy tomorrow.  Well tomorrow gets here and we have a rotten day at work or something upsets us and the first thing that goes is the carrot sticks!!!  This is plain and simple nothing but a bunch of crap.  Why are you putting off to tomorrow what you can start doing right now?  There is never going to be a perfect time to get healthy, there is always going to be something that will attempt to get in the way and if we listened to our own excuses….well we can’t sit back and wonder how we packed on those 20 pounds over the last couple of years.  We need to start today!  We need to reset our thinking to the now and start doing the things necessary to get to where we want to be.

Leave a Reply

