A day of “thanks” just isn’t enough

Today in America we celebrate Thanksgiving.  We all generally sit around the table and eat some great food, with our family and our friends and we talk about what we are thankful for.  After the past few weeks, I realize now that just one day isn’t enough to cherish what I am most thankful for.  I am however thankful for a lot of things in my life.

I am ever so thankful this year for still having my mother around.  A couple weeks, my family and I didn’t know if this was going to be the case.  I am thankful for the many doctors, nurses and other medical staff at Milford Regional Hospital and UMASS Worcester ICU for giving her the best care any son could for.

I am thankful for the person who called 911 when they saw my mom collapse in the parking lot of her work.  I don’t know who you are, but your phone call probably did more to save her life than you realize.

I am thankful for my kids.  Each one of them is a shining star!  Each child brings a unique set of values and I am every so grateful that each of my kids has a set of values.  They don’t always act like it, but they are overall great kids.  I am thankful that Tanya is a great mother to our kids and does her best to take care of them each and every day for the most part by herself.

I am thankful for my family.  Again, these past few weeks have demonstrated to me that there is nothing more powerful than an entire family coming together in solidarity.  Sometimes I forget this and I am thankful for the opportunity to remember just how much family means.

I am thankful for my health.  I am thankful that I can still go out there and do the things that I enjoy doing without to much trouble.  There are so many people in the world who cannot.

I am thankful for each and every person who is in my life in either a small way or a big way.  Your friendship and guidance is more appreciate than you realize.

There is so much more that I am thankful for but I don’t want to make this super long, plus I need to catch a flight up north.  I hope each and every one of you has a very Happy Thanksgiving!

2 thoughts on “A day of “thanks” just isn’t enough”

Leave a Reply

