Dear Mr. Lanza,

I want to say to many things to you.  I want to tell you that what you did was an amazing act of selfishness and cruelty.  I want to tell you that you are nothing, that you are less than human!  I want to tell you that whatever was going through your head, was wrong, so very wrong.  I want to tell you how very much I, as well as many other people in the world hate you for what you did.

But I can’t.

I can’t tell you these things because even though you are less than human, I as well as so many others are not.  I was born and raised to not hate anyone.  No matter how vile a person you may be or have been, you are still a person and for some reason, you made the decision to do something that is incomprehensible.

You have single handedly ruined so many lives.  You have taken away the innocence of so many children!  I have 6 children and they will eventually learn about what happened yesterday.  I as well as their mother will protect them as much as possible, but eventually, they will find out.  They will find out that someone like you could walk into their school and do the exact same thing.  I don’t know what to tell my children when they eventually ask.

I don’t know what was so wrong with your life that you had to destroy so many other lives.  I simply do not understand.  I don’t know that anyone actually does.  My gut reaction is that you are a worthless piece of shit….but I know deep down, that you are not.  I know that something was wrong, I know that you were disturbed by something.  You were hurting!  Now you have caused so much more hurt, more hurt than you can possibly even fathom.  I only wish that you had made the choice to take a different path.  You killed 20 children!

Mr. Lanza, nothing that I nor anyone else can say will ever make a damn bit of difference in the lives of those whom you have destroyed.  You have ruined lives and you have changed families forever.  Committing suicide does not end what you did!  You took the easy way out.  You left to let others pick up the pieces of the destruction you caused.  I won’t judge you, there is a higher power who will do that for me.

Psalm 23

The LORD is my shepherd; I shall not want.
He makes me to lie down in green pastures;
He leads me beside the still waters.
He restores my soul;
He leads me in the paths of righteousness For His name’s sake.
Yea, though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death,
I will fear no evil; For You are with me;
Your rod and Your staff, they comfort me.
You prepare a table before me in the presence of my enemies;
You anoint my head with oil; My cup runs over.
Surely goodness and mercy shall follow me All the days of my life;
And I will dwell in the house of the LORD Forever.

2 thoughts on “Dear Mr. Lanza,”

  1. The trail for blogger of the year lead me to this post. I am so glad to be here! Mr. Lanza’s action was appalling, yet, you were able to see past the actions and recognize this person’s agony. Well written.

Leave a Reply

