Marathon Training Week 2 – Done

After the catastrophe that was week 1, week 2 had to be better, right?  It was and it wasn’t.  I again find that I look back and have many regrets.  For almost 3 years I kept myself in the very best shape possible…Easily able to accomplish runs of 15 + miles almost at will.  Again, I need to get back to reality and that is that I let my training slide.  Intentionally and unintentionally.  The only way to get it back is to keep at it and that is what week 2 was all about…so let’s get to it.

Monday January 27, 2014.  Today called for a nice and easy 4 miler followed by a good leg strength workout.  The run went well.  I was relatively pleased with how it went all around.  4 Miles in 35:16 which is an 8:49 pace and I walk away pretty happy.  Then the hell of leg strength day crept in.  I don’t do lunges well at all and today was no different.  Not exactly sure what I was thinking abut we had squats, lunges, weighted toe lifts and reverse leg curls to do.  Unfortunately I simply could NOT complete all 3 sets of lunges…I was experiencing an extreme about of tightness in my left hamstring and my left flute.  So I backed off, finished all the rest but the lunges killed me.

Tuesday January 28, 2014.  Today just simply didn’t work.  My schedule was tight and I was running late.  I was able to get to the gym and knock out 1.5 miles in 14:41 for a pace of 9:48…I knew I needed to run slower as my left leg was still hurting.  And I allowed myself 15 minutes to complete it so I got it done, did one set of the strength workout and then had to leave..promising myself to come back later in the day to get the rest of the workout done.  I still had 3.5 miles of Tempo running to complete and the rest of the strength…suffice to say I never made it back…but I did get it done.  Eventually.

Wednesday January 29, 2014.  We have an indoor track at our gym and every Wednesday I plan for us to run on the track vice the treadmill just so our legs and get used to running on the roads again.  It is 9 laps around for a mile.  This week we were set to run 8 laps, walk 1.  Yes I do walk when I run especially when transitioning from the treadmill to hard ground.  Different muscles and they react differently to how your foot strikes the ground.  Overall a good run.  Finished the 4 miles in 40:40 so a 10:10 per mile pace.  Then it was back to the Monday strength workout of squats and lunges and what not.  Went MUCH better today and I was able to complete all strength.  Feeling pretty positive in all actuality.

Thursday January 30, 2014.  HILLS HILLS everywhere around us HILLS!!  Now that being said, I do generally enjoy hills.  I don’t know why but I do…but we are making these hill workouts tough.  We started off at an incline of 6.0 and then every mile we reduced the incline by 1.0 and increased our speed by .2.  We started off at a speed of 5.4 and ended at 7.2.  Tough workout for sure. But we completed the 5 miles in 54:48 which is slow but on hills not to bad.  Pace per mile was 10:58.  We took a 3 minute rest and then we had a 1 mile Speed workout planned.  1 Mile on a goal pace of 7:15.  That didn’t happen but did get it done in 7:43 so not to bad considering.  Strength went well.

Friday January 31, 2014.  Scheduled to be a rest day but I had 3.5 miles to make up and Amy wanted to get her Saturday run in so she could take the weekend off.  So she ran her 7 miles quite well and then I did my 3.5 miles.  Didn’t end up being fast but I did progress it so I did get a good tempo style workout in.  Total time for the 3.5 miles was 32:38 for a pace of 9:20 per mile.  I finished up my strength workout from the other day just fine.

Saturday Feb 1, 2014.  Today was supposed to be my 7 miler however I was unable to get this done due to the kids and basketball tournaments so I decided to push it off to Monday the 3rd (Flash forward, this was done and will be discussed on the week 3 training post).

Sunday Feb 2, 2014.  Rest Day

So all in all…not bad.  I without question felt MUCH better walking away from week 2 than from week 1 but I also know I missed a workout and I had to split one up.  Unfortunately sometimes with life we need to do what we have to do to make our lives and our running lives work for us.  I know I am getting stronger and I know I am getting a few things back that I have lost.  All in all, on track I do believe.  My goal is another couple weeks of base building and then we start to attack the speed.  Oh won’t that be fun 🙂

Happy Running and walking!

Jim Parker is the owner and operator of Muffins to Marathons – Fit 4 Life and the Fit 4 Life Race Series.  If you have a comment for this story, please feel free to add your comments.  If you would like to contact Jim with a story or an idea please contact him at jim@fit4liferaceseries.com or on twitter @M2M_Fit4Life

 

Leave a Reply

