What is perfect? What is perfection? Is there such a thing?

What really is perfection?  I have been thinking about this after reading an article on the news about a young lady who spent 10 weeks trying to figure out what perfection is or was.  You can read the article here. https://shine.yahoo.com/healthy-living/new-film-challenges-what-it-means-to-be–perfect-164408070.html

So what really is perfection?  Is it personal goals attained?  Looks?  Weight loss?  Accomplishments at work, home or school?  Is it your relationship?  Your kids?  Is perfection something we should strive for or by doing so are we simply setting ourselves up for failure when there is no human way to achieve it?  I have received many perfect scores on many tests in my life however does that make me perfect in math, science or english?  I think not.

Yet everyday, we all probably hear people talk about wanting to be perfect at something.  Looking up the definition of “perfect” I found this; “excellent or complete beyond practical or theoretical improvement.”  Well I want to know who that might be!?!

The reality is that none of us is perfect.  We all have the ability to do more, learn more, give more, and listen more.  In the fitness world we all have the ability to work harder, train harder and eat better.

Is perfection nothing more than self awareness of our imperfections which makes us who we are?  I don’t know, but there is one thing I do know…I am not perfect, nor will I ever be, but I would have it any other way.

Jim Parker is the owner and operator of Muffins to Marathons – Fit 4 Life and the Fit 4 Life Race Series.  If you have a comment for this story, please feel free to add your comment.  If you would like to contact Jim with a story or an idea please contact him at jim@fit4liferaceseries.com or on twitter @M2M_Fit4Life

 

Leave a Reply

