All about that Base!!

Last week was a pretty decent week nutrition wise as well as fitness wise.  I was able to stick with my plan for the most part and really only had one or two weak moments nutritionally so I call that a win.  One thing I am constantly reminding myself of is that every single day it is going to take hard work, dedication, and the motivation to keep going after it.  So as I stated on my last post I re-started this whole crazy thing after reaching 206 pounds a few weeks ago.  This past Sunday I did my weekly weigh in and I was super happy to be down another 1.8 pounds 🙂  Still haven’t cracked the 200 pound mark yet, but 200.2 was pretty dang close.  I will hopefully crash through that barrier this week.

So last week fitness wise I was able to get most of my runs in.  The weekend was a bit of a struggle with all the kids here, and our work party Saturday night and on Sunday (even though in my logbook Sunday counts for this week) I took the day off as I think I just needed a rest day.  I was able to run 16.9 miles last week and this is the most miles in a week in well over a year!  I have had many people ask what I am doing so I will just give you an example of the type of runs I am doing.  Mind you, this is only going on right now to build up a nice base.  So what I am doing is increasing my running time by one more minute everyday.  I started 2 weeks ago at 30 minutes.  Today I had to run 39 minutes.  I really don’t care to much about distance at this point.  I am only concerned with time.  So for anyone who wants to start doing some base building, these runs seem to working well.

I will start with the first run I did a couple weeks ago.  You can adjust the speeds according to your own needs.

30 minute Run (all my runs are currently on treadmills as I simply cannot get out in this cold to run just yet)

5.0 speed for 3 minutes

5.1 for 3 minutes

5.2 for 3 minutes

6.2 for 1 minute

So we just completed 10 minutes here.  Now we go back but instead of starting at 5.0 we are going to start this cycle at 5.1

5.1 for 3 minutes

5.2 for 3 minutes

5.3 for 3 minutes

6.3 for 1 minutes

And again now for the final 10 minutes

5.2 for 3 minutes

5.3 for 3 minutes

5.4 for 3 minutes

6.4 for 1 minute

Thats it!

Seems pretty simple.  Now here is how we start to get stronger and work to get that base running shape back.  Every day you are going to increase your total time by 1 minute AND you are going to increase your speed.  So on this example we started at 5.0 for 30 minutes, but tomorrow you are going to start at 5.1 speed for 31 minutes.  Following the same example as above.  EXCEPT….well since your base runs will always remain 3 minutes, that leaves that final segment with the increased speed a bit off.  So instead of going for 1 minute, you go for 1 minute 20 seconds.  And then this increases everyday as well.  Trust me, it gets harder everyday!

Anyways, that is an example of what I am currently doing right now.  Through this week anyways.  Mixing in a few short hill runs, and some speed work in addition to these runs.  We will see how the rest of this week goes.

Keep on staying focused everyone and know that each and EVERY day that we are blessed to wake up in the morning, is a great day and a day that we can make the choice to improve ourselves.  Have a great week everyone.

2 thoughts on “All about that Base!!”

  1. Glad to hear you are back on track Jim, keep it up! Hell you just might motivate me to get fit and lose a few pounds 🙂

Leave a Reply

