Dear Self, Can we run together again?

I really want to run again?!?  Are you aware that we haven’t run together in a very long time.  This reminds me of my 8th grade girlfriend.  Always there (at my locker), but never able to go out.  CRAZY!!!!  So, my question is how can we fix this.  I have talked to my wife (ha ha 8th grade girlfriend, you missed out) and she said all we have to do is get up early in the morning and go do it.  So that is what we are going to do.  That said however, we used to have such a great relationship!  I would sleep, wake up, run with you, come home and shower, eat, go to work, and then come home and run again.  This was our thing, we had this.  It was amazing.  It was beyond amazing, I was madly in love with you.  But you and I parted ways several years ago.  I think it was me who left you, and I am sorry about that.  I just had a lot of other stuff going on.  I hope you understand.  But I am back and I am ready to get going again.  I know this is going to be difficult to establish our relationship again, but I promise you I won’t let you down again.  I am sorry for eating all the ribs, steak, crab, lobster and shrimp I wanted to eat these last 5 years!!!  Seriously, I am!!!  I know that you will accept me back.  I know you want me back.  I know you want me to bring my amazing wife with me into this journey of our relationship.  (By the way, she is pretty hard corps and don’t take offense when she utters the occasional curse word at you at mile 20….don’t fret however as she won’t remember anything after that as she develops a sort of “I don’t remember shit after 20 miles of running thing.”)  Just let it go.  Thats what I do.  Anyways, long story short, I just wanted to let you know that I am back and I am sooooo looking forward to me kicking your…ummm I mean loving you again.

Happy Running

Jim

Leave a Reply

